About us

Our story

 

"SmartGarant was born after a personal experience of a friend of one of the 2 founders. This Mexican friend was studying in France for 3 years and had to go to Paris for its final year internship. However, since he had no French guarantor, finding a flat in Paris quickly turned into something nearly impossible for him.

After 3 months of painful and unsuccessful search, he decided to ask the parents of a French friend to act as his guarantor. A week later, he finally moved in his new Parisian home."
 

Faced with this, the two co-founders, Thomas and Charif, quickly realized that our friend was not an isolated case: more than 5 million people no longer meet with the selection criteria of landlords. 7 out of 10 people consider that it is difficult and even painful to rent a flat in France.

We believe that finding a flat should not be that hard, that is why SmartGarant came up with the ambition to facilitate housing access and make rental life better.

The SmartDonation initiative

In line with our commitment to facilitate access to housing and rental life, we have created the SmartDonation Initiative. Through this initiative, we commit ourselves to donate a percentage of our profits each year to a French association that helps the most disadvantaged to access decent housing.

In this perspective, we leave the choice of the association or foundation that will benefit from this donation to our tenants. Thus, by being a SmartGarant tenant, each person has the opportunity to help others in need to get a roof over their heads.

How does it work?

  1. You subscribe to the SmartGarant guarantee

  2. You choose among 2 associations the one that is dear to you

  3. Each year, we donate a percentage of our profits to the association who received the most votes

 

The founders

 

CEO & Co-founder

 

Graduated from the MS Advanced Master in Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management at emlyon business school, Thomas has worked for a Parisian startup and at La Defense for EY before embarking on his own entrepreneurial adventure.

Passionate about running and photography, he is also a travel enthusiast. His stays in Australia, India and Scotland, where he was confronted with the issue of finding accommodations, are a real source of inspiration for Thomas, serving his ambition to improve the rental life in France.

CFO & Co-founder

 

Passionate about music and graduated from the MS in Financial Engineering from the emlyon business school, Charif completed several internships in finance in Paris before co-creating SmartGarant.

Back in France, after a four-month experience in Tokyo, he realized that it is very difficult to find student accommodation in France. Convinced that housing access should not be that hard, he decided to start this adventure with Thomas.

CTO & Co-founder

 

After more than ten years of experience in IT and a start-up already created, Benjamin joins the team of SmartGarant in 2019. Sportsman, from swimming to running and squash, he likes the challenges and the technology in general.

 

Putting his skills to the services of the tenant and the owner has become obvious. IT is evolving day by day and it is very necessary for SmartGarant to have a reliable, robust and scalable technical infrastructure.

Smart Garant , a simplified joint-stock company with capital of € 7,000, 851,969,113 RCS Lyon. Company governed by the Insurance Code and registered with ORIAS № 19006016, www.orias.fr. Headquarters: 69001 Lyon

Station f White logo.png

CGU

  • SmartGarant Facebook Icon
  • SmartGarant LinkedIn Icon
  • Blog

© Made by SmartGarant with ❤️

© Made by SmartGarant with ❤️

  • SmartGarant Facebook Icon
  • SmartGarant LinkedIn Icon

SmartGarant, société par actions simplifiée au capital de 7 000 €, 851 969 113 R.C.S. Lyon. Entreprise régie par le Code des Assurances et immatriculée à l’ORIAS № 19006016, www.orias.fr. Siège : 42 rue Sergent Blandan, 69001 Lyon

A propos de SmartGarant

Notre histoire

 

"SmartGarant est né d'une expérience personnelle d'un ami d'un des deux fondateurs. Cet ami n'a pas la nationalité française, mais étudie depuis maintenant 3 ans en France. Il doit rapidement se rendre à Paris pour un stage de  fin d'études. Impossible de trouver un bailleur prêt à lui louer un appartement !
Il n'a pas de garant français, condition sine qua non pour être accepté par la plupart des propriétaires, pourtant ses garants sont plus que solvables. 
 

Après 3 mois de recherches infructueuses, il décide finalement de demander aux parents d'un ami français de se porter garant pour lui. Une semaine plus tard, il emménage."

Face à ce constat, les deux co-fondateurs, Thomas et Charif, se sont très vite rendus compte qu'il ne s'agissait pas d'un cas isolé, plus de 5 millions de personnes ne correspondent pas aux critères de sélection des propriétaires. 7 personnes sur 10 en France considèrent même qu'il est difficile, voire pénible, de louer un appartement.

De tout ceci est né SmartGarant, une startup innovante ayant pour ambition de révolutionner le marché de la location en apportant plus de sécurité et de transparence entre le locataire et son propriétaire. Nous avons pour vocation de faciliter l'accès au logement locatif, et la vie locative en général.

L'initiative SmartDonation

Dans la continuité de notre volonté de faciliter l'accès au logement et la vie locative, nous avons créé l'Initiative SmartDonation. Par cette initiative, nous nous engageons à reverser chaque année un pourcentage de nos bénéfices à une association française aidant les plus démunis à accéder à un logement décent.

Dans cette optique, nous laissons le choix de l'association ou fondation qui pourra profiter de ce don à nos locataires. Ainsi, en devenant locataire SmartGarant, chaque locataire a la possibilité d'aider d'autres personnes dans le besoin à obtenir un toit.

Comment ça marche ?

  1. Vous souscrivez à la garantie SmartGarant

  2. Vous choisissez parmi 2 associations celle qui vous est chère

  3. Chaque année, nous faisons le bilan et versons un pourcentage de nos bénéfices à l'association
    ayant reçu le plus de votes

 

L'équipe

 

CEO & Co-fondateur

 

Diplômé du MS Entrepreneuriat & Management de l'innovation à emlyon business school, Thomas s'est nourri de ces expériences en startup parisienne et à la Défense chez EY avant de se lancer dans l'aventure entrepreneuriale.

Passionné de running et de photographie, c'est aussi un mordu de voyage et de grands espaces. Ses séjours en Australie, en Inde et en Ecosse, où il a été confronté à la problématique de la recherche de logements, sont pour Thomas une réelle source d'inspiration servant son ambition d'améliorer la vie locative en France.

CFO & Co-fondateur

 

Passionné de musique et diplômé du MS Ingénierie Financière à emlyon business school, Charif a effectué plusieurs stages en finance à Paris avant de co-créer SmartGarant.

 

De retour en France, après une expérience de quatre mois à Tokyo, il s’est rendu compte qu'il est très difficile de trouver un logement étudiant en France. Convaincu qu'il est possible d’améliorer la vie des gens au travers de la location, il a décidé de débuter cette aventure avec Thomas.

CTO & Co-fondateur

 

Après plus de dix ans d’expérience en IT et une start-up déjà créée, Benjamin intègre l’équipe de SmartGarant en 2019. Sportif, de la natation à la course à pied en passant par le squash, il aime les défis et la technologie de manière générale.

 

Mettre ses compétences aux services des locataires et propriétaires devient une évidence. L'informatique évolue de jour en jour et très rapidement, c'est pourquoi, il est important pour SmartGarant d'avoir une infrastructure technique fiable, robuste et évolutive.